Meet Olivia – Bra Fitter Associate, Charlottesville

As we grow as a company, we thought it would be fun to spend some time, dig deep, and get to really know the women who make Derriere de Soie such a special place. Hang out with us while we ask the standard, silly, and deep-diving questions that get to the heart of each person. Up today, Bra Fit Associate Olivia, from our Charlottesville location.

Olivia Blog Photo

Q: Easy question: How did you find yourself working at Derriere de Soie?

A: I had noticed the store for about a year after moving to Charlottesville from WI so that my husband could pursue his PHD at UVA.   I have always wanted to have my employment reflect my own interests and when I saw the Hiring sign in the window I jumped at the idea of applying. (Fun fact sidebar: store owner Megan is also from WI)

Q: How do you like to spend your free time?

A: I have been a dancer my whole life and dancing professionally since college, currently I try to fit in modern dance classes with Anne Megibow at Mcguffey center or ballet at Charlottesville Ballet.  From time to time I also teach Martha Graham Modern Dance Technique classes in the community.  My husband and I also welcomed our new baby Ivy June in August so my free time is now much more filled with baby time.

Q: Most used emoji?

A: 💜 ⭐

Q: If you could win an Olympic medal for any sport (real or fake) what would it be?

A: Barista Skills (It was my first real job at 14 and I continued on and off for 10 years)

Q: Favorite lunch order?

A: Roast beef and cheddar on gluten free bread from Feast

Q: What’s your favorite item in the shop right now?

A: Hmmmm this is a tough one…..if I had to pick one probably the Triumph Dahlia from their Florale line bra and panty.  The set is so beautiful, it has a really romantic vibe to it.

Q: You recently welcomed a sweet baby girl into your life. What’s the one thing about motherhood that has surprised you the most?

A: How much my perception of ‘time’ has changed.  The first few weeks into motherhood seemed to go by so slowly (probably because of the intensity of our change in life day to day) but now I cannot believe she is almost 3 months old!

Q: What’s the next big goal you’d like to accomplish in life?

A: The biggest goal for us as a family would be to get my husband successfully through his PHD and into a tenure track position at a great University! On a personal level it would be to get dance back into the forefront of my daily routine.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s